The History of the EU Speakers Conference

The history of the EU Speakers' Conference includes four different stages.

In a **first stage (1963-1974)** only two meetings of Speakers of the European Communities Parliaments were held on an occasional basis.

A first meeting of the Speakers of the National Parliaments of the Member States of the European Communities and of the Parliamentary Assembly of the European Communities (now European Parliament) took place in 1963 in Rome, on an initiative of the President of the Parliamentary Assembly of the European Communities (Gaetano Martino).

A second meeting – attended also by the President of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe – was held only ten years later in 1973 in Strasbourg, on an initiative of the President of the European Parliament, Walter Behrendt.

In a **second stage (1975-1979)** the meetings of the Speakers became regular and included also the Parliamentary Assemblies of the Council of Europe.

Indeed, the Speakers of the European Parliamentary Assemblies (national parliaments of the Member States of the Council of Europe as well as the European Parliament and the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe) decided – at the meetings held in Paris in January 1975 and in Rome in August 1975 - to convene an Annual Conferences (on an invitation of a national parliament).

In accordance to this decision Annual Conferences of the Speakers of the European Parliamentary Assemblies took place in 1976, 1977 and 1978.

In a **third stage (1980-1998)** the Conferences of the Speakers of the European Communities and of the European Parliamentary Assemblies took place on an annual basis in different formats.

At the meeting in Madrid in 1980 the Speakers of the European Parliamentary Assemblies agreed to convene an annual Conference, alternatively in two different formats:

- one year, as a "big" Conference including the Speakers of all the national parliaments of the Member states of the Council of Europe, of the European Parliament and of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe;
- one year, as a "small" Conference including the Speakers of the European Communities Parliaments (European Parliament and national parliaments).

According to this criteria "big" and "small" Conferences were held, alternatively, at least once a year from 1981 to 1998.

In the **fourth stage (1999 to date)** the EUSC has become an autonomous forum of cooperation and has affirmed its general competence of coordination and supervision of the interparliamentary cooperation in the EU.

At the meeting of the 1999 the Conference of the Speakers of the EU Parliaments (EUSC) in Lisbon decided to hold at least one meeting a year and to enhance the interparliamentary cooperation in the EU.

In 2000 the EUSC in Rome adopted the Guidelines of the EUSC laying down principles and rules of procedure for the internal functioning of the Conference and launched the IPEX project.

In 2004 the EUSC held in The Hague adopted the Guidelines on interparliamentary cooperation which establish the principles, the objectives, the framework and the tools of the interparliamentary cooperation in the EU.

The Guidelines were amended by the EUSC in Lisbon in 2008.

In 2006 the EUSC in Copenhagen launched the new IPEX website.

The EUSC in Warsaw (2011) and Nicosia (2013) decided – according to Protocol n. 1 annexed to the TEU and TFEU - the establishment of the new Conferences on the CFSP/CSDF and on the economic and financial governance.

CONFERENCES OF THE EUROPEAN PARLIAMENTARY ASSEMBLIES (1963-1999)

1963	ROME 11.1.1963	National Parliaments of the European Communities and Parliamentary Assembly of the European Communities
1973	STRASBOURG 15.1.1973	National Parliaments of the European Communities, European Parliament and Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe
1975	PARIS 7.1.1975	National Parliaments of the European Communities, European Parliament and Parliamentary Assembly of the European Council
1975	ROME 26-27.9.1975	National Parliaments of the European Communities, European Parliament and Parliamentary Assembly of the European Council
1976	BONN 9-10.7.1976	European Parliamentary Assemblies (national parliaments of the Member States of the Council of Europe as well as the European Parliament and the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe)
1977	VIENNA 10-11.6.1977	European Parliamentary Assemblies
1978	THE HAGUE 22-24.6.1978	European Parliamentary Assemblies

1980	MADRID 30-31.5.1980	European Parliamentary Assemblies
1981	LUXEMBOURG 3-4.7.1981	European Communities Parliaments (National Parliaments and Europèean Parliament)
1982	LONDON 4-5.6.1982	European Parliamentary Assemblies
1983	ROME 25-26.11.1983	European Communities Parliaments
1984	COPENHAGEN 15-16.6.1984	European Communities Parliaments
1985	PARIS 7-8.6.1985	European Communities Parliaments
1986	LISBON 6-7.6.1986	European Parliamentary Assemblies
1987	LUXEMBOURG 12-13.6.1987	European Communities Parliaments
1988	BERNA 24-25.6.1988	European Parliamentary Assemblies
1989	MADRID 19-20.5.1989	European Communities Parliaments
1990	BRUXELLES 7-9.6.1990	European Parliamentary Assemblies
1991	BERLIN 9-11.5.1991	European Communities Parliaments
1992	STRASBOURG 20-22.2.1992	European Parliamentary Assemblies
1993	DUBLIN 28-29.5.1993	European Communities Parliaments
1994	THE Hague 23-24.6.1994	European Parliamentary Assemblies
1995	LONDON 12-13.5.1995	EU Parliaments

1996	BUDAPEST 7-9.6.1996	European Parliamentary Assemblies
1997	HELSINKI 6-7.6.1997	EU Parliaments
1998	STOCKHOLM 12-13 giugno 1998	European Parliamentary Assemblies
1999	LISBON 21 maggio 1999	EU Parliaments

Informal Conferences

1991	BRUXELLES 6.12.1991
1992	LISBON 3.4.1992
1993	BRUXELLES 20.12.1993
1994	ATHENS 11.4.1994
1995	PARIS 19.4.1995
1998	VIENNA 1.12.1998

Extraordinary Conferences (linked to Celebrations)

1991	ATHENS 25.9.1991
1992	STRASBOURG 15.9.1992
1994	AUSCHWITZ 27.1.1994

1997	ROME 25.3.1997

Source: The Italian Chamber of Deputies