



Inter-Parliamentary Conference for the Common Foreign and Security Policy and the Common Security and Defence Policy (CFSP/CSDP)

Vienna, 11 - 12 October 2018

Programme

Last Update: 9.10.2018

Thursday, 11 October 2018

09:00	Departure from the hotels to the Meeting of the Troika
09:45	Departure from the hotels
09:30	Meeting of the Presidential Troika and the European Parliament
09.30	·
	Erste Campus
10:15	Meetings of the political groups
	Erste Campus
11:00	Coffee break
11:15	Opening session
	Erste Campus/Grand Hall
	Welcome adresses:
	Mr Wolfgang Sobotka, President of the National Council
	Ms Inge Posch-Gruska, President of the Federal Council
	Introductory remarks:
	Mr Andreas Schieder, Chairperson of the Foreign Affairs Committee of
	the National Council
	Mr Reinhard Eugen Bösch, Chairperson of the Defence Committee of
	the National Council
	Mr David McAllister, Chairperson of the Committee on Foreign Affairs
	of the European Parliament
	Introductory statement via Live Video Connection:
	Ms Federica Mogherini, High Representative of the European Union for
	Foreign Affairs and Security Policy
	Short Debate
12:15	Lunch at the conference venue

13:30 <u>Session 1</u>: Security, Migration and Control of External Borders Erste Campus/Grand Hall

Chairperson:

Mr Reinhard Eugen Bösch, Chairperson of the Defence Committee of the National Council

Introductory statements:

Mr Wolfgang Baumann, Secretary General at the Federal Ministry of Defence of the Republic of Austria

Mr Berndt Körner, Deputy Executive Director of the European Border and Coast Guard Agency FRONTEX

Ms Melita Sunjic, longstanding employee of UNHCR and Director of Transcultural Campaigning

Debate

15:00 Family photo and coffee break

15:30 <u>Workshop A:</u> The future of the nuclear deal with Iran following the USA's withdrawal

Erste Campus / Executive Meeting Room 2.13

Moderator:

Ms Ana Gomes, Member of the European Parliament

Introductory statements:

Mr Cornelius Adebahr, Independent Political Analyst, Berlin, and Non-Resident Fellow, Carnegie Europe, Brussels

Mr Stephan Klement, Special Advisor for the Iran Task Force at the European External Action Service (EEAS)

<u>Workshop B:</u> Facilitating military mobility in the EU within the framework of PESCO

Erste Campus/Grand Hall

Moderator:

Mr Fabio Massimo Castaldo, Member of the European Parliament

Introductory statements:

Mr Pedro Serrano, Deputy Secretary General of the European External Action Service (EEAS)

Ms Margriet Drent, Senior Research Fellow at the Netherlands Institute of International Relations Clingendael

Workshop C: OSCE a key partner in the east west dialogue

Erste Campus/ Executive Meeting Room 2.14

Moderator:

17:00

Mr Ioan Mircea Pascu, Member of the European Parliament

Introductory statements:

Return to the hotels

Mr George Tsereteli, President of the OSCE Parliamentary Assembly **Mr Christian Strohal,** Austrian diplomat, Former Special Representative of the Austrian OSCE Chairmanship, Former Director of ODIHR, Ambassador

17.00	Return to the noters
19:00	Departure for dinner
19:30	Visit of the State Hall of the Austrian National Library and official Dinner hosted by Mr Andreas Schieder, Chairperson of the Foreign Affairs Committee and Mr Reinhard Eugen Bösch, Chairperson of the Defence Committee
	Venue: Austrian National Library, 1010 Vienna, Josefsplatz 1
22:30	Return to the hotels

Friday, 12 October 2018

09:00 Departure from the hotels 09:30 Session 2: The European contribution to the improvement of the political and humanitarian situation in Syria Erste Campus/Grand Hall **Chairperson:** Mr Andreas Schieder, Chairperson of the Foreign Affairs Committee of the National Council Introductory statements: Ms Helga Schmid, Secretary General of the European External Action Service (EEAS) Mr Jean-Louis de Brouwer, Director for MENA at the Commission's Directorate General for European Civil Protection and Humanitarian Aid Operations (DG-ECHO) Mr Salam Kawakibi, Political scientist, Executive Director of the Arab Center for Research and Policy Studies in Paris Debate 11:00 Coffee Break

11:30	<u>Session 3</u> : The EU perspective for the Western Balkans Erste Campus/Grand Hall
	Chairperson:
	Mr David McAllister, Chairperson of the Committee on Foreign Affairs of the European Parliament
	Introductory statements:
	Ms Karin Kneissl, Federal Minister for Europe, Integration and Foreign Affairs of the Republic Austria
	Mr Thomas Mayr-Harting, Managing Director for Europe and Central Asia in the European External Action Service (EEAS)
	Ms Theresia Töglhofer , Associate Fellow, Alfred von Oppenheim Centre for European Policy Studies of the German Council on Foreign Relations (DGAP)
	Debate
13:00	Closing remarks by the Chairpersons
13:30	Lunch at the conference venue
14:30	Departure of the delegations and transfer to the hotels