MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE PRESIDENTIAL TROIKA OF COSAC Copenhagen, Denmark, 29 January 2012

PRESENT AT THE MEETING

CHAIR: Ms Eva KJER HANSEN (Folketinget, Denmark).

Ms Agnieszka POMASKA (*Sejm*, Poland), Mr Edmund WITTBRODT (*Senat*, Poland), Mr Averof NEOFYTOU (*Vouli ton Antiprosopon*, Cyprus), Mr Miguel Ángel MARTÍNEZ MARTÍNEZ and Mr Carlo CASINI (European Parliament).

AGENDA

- 1. Adoption of the agenda of the meeting of the Presidential Troika of COSAC
- 2. Approval of the draft programme of the meeting of the Chairpersons of COSAC
- 3. Debate on the draft programme of the XLVII COSAC (22-24 April 2012)
- 4. Approval of the outline of the 17th Bi-annual Report of COSAC
- 5. Letters received by the Presidency
- 6. Any other business

PROCEEDINGS

1. Adoption of the agenda of the meeting of the Presidential Troika of COSAC

The meeting was chaired by Ms Eva KJER HANSEN, Chairman of the European Affairs Committee of the Danish *Folketing*, who welcomed the delegations of the Presidential Troika of COSAC (hereinafter referred to as "the Troika"), and in particular its new members, Ms Agnieszka POMASKA (*Sejm*, Poland) and Mr Averof NEOFYTOU (*Vouli ton Antiprosopon*, Cyprus). She went on to congratulate Mr Edmund WITTBRODT on his re-election to the Polish *Senat*, Mr Miguel Ángel MARTÍNEZ MARTÍNEZ on his re-election as Vice President of the European Parliament and Mr Carlo CASINI on his re-election as Chair of the Committee on Constitutional Affairs of the European Parliament.

The agenda of the meeting of the Troika was adopted without amendments.

2. Approval of the draft programme of the meeting of the Chairpersons of COSAC

Ms KJER HANSEN highlighted the two main debates that would be held the next day. The first one - in which Commissioner Connie HEDEGAARD was the guest speaker - would focus on ways to promote green economy in Europe. The second debate on the economic and financial crisis - in which Commissioner Maroš ŠEFČOVIČ would address the meeting - would also offer the possibility to discuss the issue of democratic accountability and the role of national

Parliaments. She noted that the requests in the two letters that the Presidency had received (see point 5) could be accommodated by the agenda.

The draft programme of the meeting of the Chairpersons of COSAC was adopted without amendments.

3. Debate on the draft programme of the XLVII COSAC (22-24 April 2012)

Ms KJER HANSEN stated that the draft programme of the XLVII COSAC reflected the priorities of the Danish Presidency on how to reinvigorate the Single Market. The Danish Prime Minister Helle THORNING-SCHMIDT, European Commission President José Manuel BARROSO, Commissioner Michel BARNIER and Commissioner Janez POTOČNIK had already confirmed their participation. Commissioner Neelie KROES had not yet confirmed.

Mr CASINI expressed the wish that two guest speakers from the European Parliament be invited to address the XLVII COSAC, thus building on the positive experience during the XLVI COSAC in Warsaw. One guest speaker could be Mr Malcolm HARBOUR, Chair of the Committee on Internal Market and Consumer Protection of the European Parliament.

Ms KJER HANSEN agreed that there should be at least one guest speaker from the European Parliament, which would be considered in view of the possible participation of Commissioner KROES and of the amount of time left for discussion.

4. Approval of the outline of the 17th Bi-annual Report of COSAC

Ms KJER HANSEN briefly explained that the 17th Bi-annual Report would deal with two key issues: the information flow to and from parliaments and the involvement of parliaments in relaunching the internal market.

Regarding the first issue Mr WITTBRODT raised some concerns over the apparent lack of effectiveness of comments made by national Parliaments to European Commission proposals in the context of subsidiarity checks.

The outline of the 17th Bi-annual Report was approved without amendments. The questionnaire for the 17th Bi-annual Report would be sent as soon as possible after the meeting of the Chairpersons. The deadline for replies was set at 1 March 2012.

5. Letters received by the Presidency

The Presidency had received two letters, of which the Troika took note:

• A letter from Mr Simon SUTOUR, Chairman of the Committee on European Affairs of the French *Sénat*, on parliamentary control of the Eurozone; and

• A letter from Mr Gunther KRICHBAUM, Chairman of the Committee on European Affairs of the German *Bundestag*, on parliamentary cooperation and control of the fiscal compact (Article 13 of the "international Treaty").

6. Any other business

As there was no other business, Ms KJER HANSEN closed the meeting of the Presidential Troika.