Dear Colleague, Dear Mr. Arias,

Firstly let me express my best wishes for the commencement of the Spanish presidency in the new year 2010. I am convinced that Spanish EU presidency plays a crucial role in defining the framework of institutional arrangements evolving from the Treaty of Lisbon.

As I had the opportunity to see now the proposed programme of the COSAC meeting on February 4th-5th 2010 in Madrid, allow me to share with you in this more informal way some concerns that could occur in this context. Reminding the minutes of the ordinary COSAC meeting in Stockholm of October 2009, I would like to send you the following comments. The letter of 8 chairpersons of EU affairs committees of November 26th 2009 stressed the need to debate the perspectives of continuation of exchange of views among national parliaments vis-a-vis the new powers conferred by the Treaty of Lisbon to national parliaments. The letter underlined the well proved practice established by pilot projects focused on the scrutiny of especially remarkable legislative proposals of the EU. Supposing the Annual Legislative and Working Programme of the new Commission is to be published in spring of this year, I am of the opinion that principal debate cannot be fully postponed from February meeting of COSAC chairpersons to the ordinary meeting of COSAC in May. Moreover, allow me to mention that article 7.1.A of the Rules of Procedure of COSAC points out that principal business of the Conference is to exchange information on practical aspects of parliamentary scrutiny. Such a debate is not easy to be reduced to a subpoint during short time reserved to procedural issues in the preliminary programme of February meeting of COSAC chairpersons.

Dear Mr. Arias, I hope that we can continue the interesting debate on issues outlined in the above mentioned letter in order to establish appropriate procedures so that the COSAC is able to fulfil its co-ordinating role in the future. I am looking forward to seeing you soon.

Sincerely yours,

Ludek Sefzig Chairman of the EU-Affairs Committee The Czech Senate

Cc. Ms. Anna Kinberg Batra, and signatories to the letter of November 26th, 2009: Ms. Darja Lavtižar Bebler, Mr. Hubert Haenel, Ms. Kateřina Jacques, Mr. Gunther Krichbaum, Mr. Milan Urbáni, Mr. Harm Evert Waalkens, Mr. Edmund Wittbrodt

Cc. Loreta Raulinaityte, COSAC Secretariat