

EUROPEAN COMMISSION

> Brussels, 12.5.2020 COM(2020) 193 final

ANNEX

ANNEX

to the

Proposal for a Council Decision

establishing the position to be taken on behalf of the European Union in the EPA Committee set up by the stepping stone Economic Partnership Agreement between Côte d'Ivoire, of the one part, and the European Community and its Member States, of the other part, in connection with the adoption of the list of arbitrators

DRAFT

DECISION No .../2020 of the EPA Committee established by the stepping stone Economic Partnership Agreement between Côte d'Ivoire, of the one part, and the European Community and its Member States, of the other part

of ...

concerning the adoption of the list of arbitrators

THE EPA COMMITTEE,

Having regard to the stepping stone Economic Partnership Agreement between Côte d'Ivoire, of the one part, and the European Community and its Member States, of the other part ('the Agreement'), signed in Brussels on 3 March 2009 and applied on a provisional basis since September 2016, in particular Article 64(1) thereof,

Whereas:

The Agreement provides that the EPA Committee is to establish a list of 15 persons who are willing and able to serve as arbitrators in the settlement of disputes that may arise between the Parties,

HAS ADOPTED THIS DECISION:

Article 1

- 1. The list of 15 persons who are willing and able to serve as arbitrators is hereby established in accordance with Article 64(1) of the Agreement and is set out in the Annex to this Decision.
- 2. The list of arbitrators referred to in paragraph 1 is established without prejudice to any special rules provided for in the Agreement or which may be decided by the EPA Committee.

Article 2

The list of arbitrators referred to in Article 1 may be amended by a decision of the EPA Committee in accordance with Article 67 of the Agreement.

Article 3

This Decision shall enter into force on the date of its signature.

Done at ..., ...

For the Republic of Côte d'Ivoire ...

For the European Union ...

<u>ANNEX</u>

List of arbitrators (Article 64(1) of the Agreement)

Arbitrators selected by Côte d'Ivoire:

Mr Abbe YAO – Côte d'Ivoire Mr Abdouramane OUATTARA – Côte d'Ivoire Mr Joachim BILA AKA – Côte d'Ivoire Mr Narcisse AKA – Côte d'Ivoire Mr Karim FADIKA – Côte d'Ivoire

Arbitrators selected by the European Union:

Mr Claus-Dieter EHLERMANN – Germany Mr Giorgio SACERDOTI – Italy Mr Jacques BOURGEOIS – Belgium Mr Pieter Jan KUIJPER – Netherlands Ms Hélène RUIZ FABRI – France

Arbitrators jointly selected by the two Parties:

Mr Martial AKAKPO - Togo Ms Anna KOUYATE – Mali Mr Thomas COTTIER – Switzerland Ms Merit E. JANOW – United States Mr Helge SELAND – Norway